ATM Fees and Cash in Ho Chi Minh City: Bank Limits
Only the bank that issued your card may charge you under its own published schedule. Your home bank's schedule therefore sets your fee. TPBank still lists VND 55,000 for a foreign Visa under VND 5,000,000, and BIDV's only foreign-card line is a 2018 file. Vietcombank lets its own cards take VND 10 million per withdrawal.
On this page
Who sets the fee on an ATM withdrawal in Ho Chi Minh City? Circular 18/2024/TT-NHNN lets only the card-issuing organisation charge its own cardholder.
Chỉ TCPHT được thu phí đối với chủ thẻ theo Biểu phí dịch vụ thẻ do TCPHT đã công bố
Only the card-issuing organisation may charge cardholders, under the fee schedule it has published.
Circular 18/2024/TT-NHNN, Điều 5 khoản 1
Older schedules show two charges on one withdrawal: the ATM bank’s fee and your own bank’s fee. This page sets out what each bank publishes for each case.

Fees for a card issued abroad
BIDV and TPBank publish an ATM fee for cards issued by foreign banks. Techcombank publishes one for ATMs inside its branches.
| Bank | Fee for a withdrawal | Applies to |
|---|---|---|
| BIDV | 3% of the amount, minimum VND 50,000, excluding VAT | Visa or Mastercard issued abroad, at a BIDV ATM; file created in 2018, treat as outdated |
| TPBank | VND 55,000 under VND 5,000,000; 3.08% from VND 5,000,000 | Visa issued by a foreign bank, at a TPBank ATM |
| TPBank | 3.3% of the amount, minimum VND 77,000 | Mastercard issued by a foreign bank |
| Techcombank | VND 66,000 per transaction | ATM inside a branch or transaction office; excludes Visa and Mastercard issued in Vietnam and JCB, so a foreign Visa is covered |
Techcombank also lists a cash advance at its branch POS terminals at 3.3% of the amount for a Visa card.
Vietcombank, HSBC and Shinhan state no fee for foreign-issued cards on the pages read. Under Circular 18/2024 only your card’s issuer charges you, so your home bank’s schedule is the one to read. HSBC Vietnam’s own FAQ adds that the issuing bank’s charge may apply.
What each bank charges its own cards
Open an account and your own schedule applies. Vietcombank has two debit schedules, the domestic card and the international card; use the row that matches your card. The table shows debit cards, in VND per withdrawal.
| Card | Own ATM | Another bank’s ATM in Vietnam | ATM abroad |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vietcombank domestic debit, schedule of 12 May 2025 | 1,000 | 3,000 | not stated |
| Vietcombank international debit, from 22 January 2026 | not stated | 9,090, excluding VAT | 3.64%, minimum 45,454 |
| Techcombank Visa debit, outside an account package | free | 9,900 | 4%, minimum 50,000 |
| TPBank Visa Debit | free | free | 3.19% |
| HSBC Vietnam debit | free | 5,000 on local Plus ATMs; 60,000 on global Plus ATMs | 45,000 at an HSBC ATM |

For the documents a foreigner needs before any of this applies, see how to open a bank account in Ho Chi Minh City.

How much one withdrawal can give
Caps per transaction differ by bank.
| Bank and card | Per transaction | Per day |
|---|---|---|
| Vietcombank ATM, listed Vietcombank-issued debit cards | VND 10 million | not stated |
| BIDV ATM, Visa, Mastercard or JCB | VND 5,000,000 | set by the card issuer |
| Shinhan ATM, Shinhan debit card | VND 10 million | VND 50 million |
| HSBC Vietnam debit card | not stated | VND 20,000,000 |
Vietcombank’s 12 January 2023 notice raised its per-transaction limit from VND 5 million to VND 10 million; no later change was found. Shinhan sets its limit for ATMs abroad at the equivalent of VND 30 million a day.


ATMs at Tan Son Nhat Airport
The international terminal has 4 ATMs at Column 14 and 1 ATM at Column 3 on the arrivals ground floor. The airport page does not name the banks that run them, so read the fee on the screen against the tables above.

Plan the ride into town in Tan Son Nhat Airport to the City. The arrival-day checklist, including cash, is in Tan Son Nhat Arrival: Immigration, Pre-Arrival Form, Cash.
Cash, card or QR
Carry dong for everyday spending. A decree in force since February 2026 gives a warning for paying for goods or services in foreign currency where the law does not allow it, below US$1,000.
The dated Vietcombank rates and the legal exchange places are in Currency Exchange in Ho Chi Minh City: Legal Places, Rates.
QR is narrower for visitors than for residents. In April 2026 NAPAS, Ant International and Vietcombank opened a service where Chinese tourists scan VietQR Global codes with the Alipay e-wallet. It covers shopping centres, shops, restaurants, hotels and tourist sites in the NAPAS member network.

Keep the fee down
- Use your own bank’s ATM where it is free: Techcombank, TPBank and HSBC list free withdrawals at their own ATMs.
- A TPBank Visa Debit card is free at other banks’ ATMs in Vietnam.
- Flat fees reward fewer, larger withdrawals: Techcombank charges VND 9,900 per transaction at another bank’s ATM. A percentage fee, such as BIDV’s 3%, grows with the amount.
- Cards used at ATMs outside Vietnam cost more: 3.64% at Vietcombank, 4% at Techcombank and 3.19% at TPBank.
To see how much cash a month in the city takes, use the cost of living guide.
Photos and clips uploaded to Google Maps (BIDV on Google Maps (opens in a new tab), Techcombank on Google Maps (opens in a new tab), HSBC Metropolitan on Google Maps (opens in a new tab), Shinhan Bank Vietnam on Google Maps (opens in a new tab), Tan Son Nhat International Airport on Google Maps (opens in a new tab), Vietcombank Tower on Google Maps (opens in a new tab)) by Lars Lekken, Andy Deck, Nguyen Chau, Hao, Alex Nguyen Thang Long, Bo-Wen Zheng, Hoang Van.
Not confirmed: Vietcombank, HSBC and Shinhan state no foreign-card ATM fee on the pages read. BIDV's 3% foreign-card line comes from a file created in December 2018. The ATM screen shows any surcharge before you confirm.
Common questions
Who sets the fee on my ATM withdrawal?
Only the card-issuing organisation may charge its own cardholder, under a fee schedule it has published.
What does a card issued abroad pay at a BIDV ATM?
BIDV's only line, in a file created in December 2018, is 3% of the amount, minimum VND 50,000. That file predates Circular 18/2024, which lets only the card issuer charge its cardholder. No newer BIDV schedule for foreign cards was found.
What is the withdrawal limit at Vietcombank ATMs?
For the Vietcombank-issued debit cards in its notice, the limit is VND 10 million per transaction at its own ATMs.
How much can I take out of an HSBC debit card in a day?
The HSBC Vietnam debit card daily limit is VND 20,000,000.
Is there an ATM when I land at Tan Son Nhat?
The international terminal has 4 ATMs at Column 14 and 1 at Column 3 on the arrivals ground floor.
Can I pay shops in US dollars instead?
A decree in force since February 2026 penalises paying for goods or services in foreign currency where the law does not allow it, from a warning below US$1,000.
Read next
General information checked against the sources listed above, not legal advice for your situation. Rules and office practice change; confirm with the immigration office or a licensed adviser before you act. See how guides are checked.
Spotted an error? Report it.